We’re Already Seven Whole Days into the New Year | Milestones for Week 1

Hola amigos!

Ciao a tutti!

Hallo!

Ola gente!

Bonjour!

Saluton homoj!

Hello, fellow language learners!

Can you believe it’s seven whole days into the new year? That’s unbelievable.

If you haven’t realized it yet, this year will fly by.

If we aren’t careful, we will wake up on December 31st wondering where the hell the year went and how we lived through 365 days.

To prevent this from happening to you, I suggest that you set language learning goals.

It only makes sense to first set yearly goals and chunk your goals from there.

Check out my goals for the year and 30 days.

Stay updated on my weekly and daily progress by following Polyglot Path.

I’m not a fan of telling people what to do or offering unsolicited advice without first at least following through with that advice myself.

With that being said, today I want to share with you my language learning goals for the week.


Why the transparency?

Gurus and guides and experts and professionals are fine and dandy.

They give us the methods, the tools, and the tricks of the trade we need to get to where we want to be easily and effortlessly possible.

These people have their place.

I am not one of these people. 

Please, let me repeat and expand.

If you’re looking for someone whose brain works like Google Translate, that’s not me. 

This is Polyglot Path.

I’m learning like you.

I’m an English native with a rusty high-intermediate proficiency in Spanish due to lack of practice.

My Portuguese consists of using my rusty Spanish and adding algum ritmo (PR: some rhythm) on it.

The same goes for Italian where I can only introduce myself and stare at you hoping you continue no further.

French, German, and Esperanto?

We’re not going to talk about those right now.

LIKE. I. SAID. This is Polyglot Path. 

We’re in this together, right?

I intend for this blog to inspire and motivate you to continue or start your language learning journeys. 

Learning a language can be a lonely endeavor.

It’s like going to the gym.

If you’re dedicated, you’ll  go no matter.

Other times, you want a partner.

You want someone who’s in it with you, someone you can share your successes and failures with and someone who will understand the journey.

I’m starting this blog with the high hopes it might do that for one person.

This blog also keeps me accountable.

By documenting my journey, it allows me to start now, right where I am.

I don’t have to wait until I can truly call myself a polyglot.

Now, let’s get to the good stuff.


Milestones for the Week of January 7-13, 2018

Spanish

  • Review lessons 1-4 in Spanish in 32 Lessons
  • Listen to 1 hour of Spanish
  • Complete 5 new Duolingo skills
  • Use HelloTalk as much as possible

Italian

  • Learn the first 100 of 5000 most common words
  • Listen to 1 hour of Italian
  • Complete 5 new Duolingo skills

German

  • Review the first 100 of 5000 most common words
  • Listen to 1 hour of German
  • Complete 5 new Duolingo skills

Portuguese

  • Review the first 100 of 5000 most common words
  • Listen to 1 hour of Portuguese
  • Complete 5 new Duolingo skills

French

  • Review the first 100 of 5000 most common words
  • Listen to 1 hour of French
  • Complete 5 new Duolingo skills

Esperanto

  • Review the first 100 of 5000 most common words
  • Listen to 1 hour of Esperanto
  • Complete 5 new Duolingo skills

English

  • Be a linguistic badass
  • Keep doing what you’re doing because it’s obviously working
  • More positive self-talk would be nice

Necessary Comments to the Haters

If you’ve taken your valuable time to read this far, first I want to say thank you.

Thank you for supporting this blog and for your participation in it.

Second, yes, I’ve heard learning two languages at once is hard.

Yes, I’ve heard learning two similar languages at once is even harder.

To those qualms, I reject your reality and substitute my own. 

If I succeed, awesome.

Six languages down. Who knows how many more to go?

If I don’t succeed, I believe in a years time, I will still be able to hold decent conversations with people.

For me, that’s still a success.

It’s a win-win.

The trick is to write the rules so you always win. 


Let’s do this together!

If you have a language learning goal, please comment the language(s) that you are learning and what started this love affair.

I’d love to read your motivations and connect with other language learners.

If you have questions about my language learning milestones for the week or just want to say hi, please leave a comment.

Comments make the world go round.

Hasta pronto amigos!

A presto! 

Tschüss!

Tchau!

Au revoir!

Adiaŭ!

Let’s do this together!


Polyglot Path YouTube Channel

6 Languages. 1 Year. The Plan.

Polyglot Path Blog

3 thoughts on “We’re Already Seven Whole Days into the New Year | Milestones for Week 1”

Leave a comment